The State Council has ordered all its provinces and regions to establish an ecological “red line” that will declare designated regions under mandatory and rigorous protection. The 10 pilot programs include Sanjiangyuan (the source of China’s three major rivers), giant panda habitats and the Great Wall. The country’s national parks will follow the principle of “ecological protection first”, and will be authorized by the central government and implemented by government-led management.”

CAS news release, September 27, 2017