The center will have 4 members: ITER China, Institute of Plasma Physics at Hefei Institute of Physical Science, Southwestern Institute of Physics (all CAS) and France’s CEA. The center will conduct research on fusion science and experimental physics, safety standards and technical standards for fusion energy and next generation of fusion research devices.
A tungsten divertor for tungsten environment in a steady-state Tokamak reacto, as a first joint research project, is already under development.

CAS news release, January 11, 2018